Hardcasual

Icon

You take games too seriously.

Other Blogs Just Popular Because Girls Write Them

Mr. Johnson, and the hit tracking system he visits 30 times a day

Mr. Johnson and the hit tracking system he visits 30 times a day.

Chuck Johnson, editor of GamePhanDaily.blogspot.com, the internet’s self-professed “number one editorial voice on games, games journalism, and games culture”, released a statement today detailing the reason why his blog’s hit counts have floundered.

Mr. Johnson writes: “When I look back on my posting history, I see absolutely no reason why I’m not up there with the true titans of games journalism. My post about sexual imagery in Super Ghouls ‘n’ Goblins is some of the most visceral stuff that you’ll ever read on the internet, and my insightful attempts to deconstruct the issues with iPhone gaming should be required reading for anyone attempting to break into the marketplace.”

“I can only think of one reason why my work hasn’t been discovered and lauded in the halls of the greats, N4G.com and Kotaku. Because I’m not a chick.”

“Games journalism is such a hard world for a man to break into. Look at, say, Leigh Alexander. What’s she ever done? I mean, obviously, she’s been like an editor at every major news source on the internet, and she’s been working for decades. But her blog? People just read that shit because she’s a girl. I write more posts per day than she ever will, and no one ever replies to me on Twitter. Just because I don’t have a vagina, I’m a second-class citizen?”

“Or PixelVixen707. She’s not even a real girl! She’s fucking imaginary! And she hasn’t even mentioned Noby Noby Boy! But people still act like she’s more ‘relevant’ than me. Did she ever deconstruct the fighting system of Super Smash Brothers with an eye to Lacanian philosophy? No. But I did, and I still can’t get a fucking Digg.”

Mr. Johnson said that his comments spoke for themselves, but he added that he was considering creating a second, female persona for his blog, which he would use in emails to Joystiq and Destructoid begging for a link, any link.

When asked for a comment on the difficulty men find in entering the videogame industry, a representative of the Women in Video Games SIG of the Game Developers’ Association told Hardcasual.net, “Go fuck yourself.”

– sam

Filed under: Commentary, , , ,

18 Responses

  1. Chris Plante says:

    OMG! THOSE ARE HARDCASUAL’S PAGE VIEWS! LOLZ! U GUYZ SUK

  2. Leigh says:

    lol he discovered my secret

  3. Man, I was gettin’ crazy pageviews back when my readership mistook me for one of the ladies.

  4. Karl says:

    Bow Chik-a Wa-Wa

  5. […] my return to blogging I want to talk about something very puzzling to me. I got the idea from this (somewhat) amusing satire of male bloggers (at least in the professional video game blogging industry) complaining that […]

  6. Protector one says:

    “Boo hoo hoo, I have a penis”

    Also, I hope you appreciate the irony that, hadn’t it been for Leigh Alexander’s vagi… I mean ‘blog’, I would have never read this post. :P

  7. Filipe says:

    Hey, now there’s an idea! Time to edit my blog’s profile…

  8. Annie says:

    It’s all true, and now the secret is out. Vaginas are magical. My vagina attracts traffic like woah.

    Wait. Hm.

  9. Porch says:

    Leigh is better than you xD

  10. Sirix says:

    wow dude.

    Think much of yourself?

    maaaaybe?

  11. Anon says:

    Vagina’s are magical, they must be where the brain is kept, which explains why you are lacking one.

  12. jason says:

    don’t be bashful chuck, you do have a vagina!

  13. Hal says:

    Nailed it. That totally explains why I get this mind control type impulse to go read Sexy VideogameLand every day.

    OMG, I wonder this could explain my X-Play addiction as well…

    Curse you Morgan Webb and your towering hotness!!!1

  14. Tracey says:

    Oh the poor thing. No one ever replies to him on Twitter.

  15. Ian says:

    Aww, poor baby. Those female chauvanists are making it so hard for guys to get into video games!

  16. Pala says:

    Nice stuff. Very TheOnion-esque.

  17. […] “Other Blogs Popular Just Because Girls Write Them”. Yes. […]

Leave a Reply

this is a blog about video games by chris plante, sam ryan and chris littler.


subscribe via rss, follow us on twitter, be our fan on facebook.


"BEST OF HUMOUR... Hardcasual is the magic mirror for gamers who aren’t afraid to laugh at themselves, and each other."
- Gaz Deaves, Video Games Records Manager, Guinness Book of World Records

"I liked Hardcasual when it was serious. Then they made a joke about me and turned into a comedy site. Now I like them even more... These guys are like The Onion of video games."
- Stephen Totilo, MTV Multiplayer Blog
